Select Page

Institute Receives International Vinitaly Award 2011

The Institute of Masters of Wine was honoured with the International Vinitaly Award 2011 at a presentation in Verona last night.

Lynne Sherriff MW, Chairman of the Institute, accepted the award on behalf of the Institute at the Vinitaly gala dinner.

The award, presented annually since 1996, recognises individuals or organisations promoting the spread of wine culture and production improvements.

The Institute currently has 288 members who are resident in 23 different countries. These Masters of Wine are active in all aspects of the international wine industry. Through its members and activities the Institute promotes excellence, interaction and learning, across all sectors of the global wine community.

More than 250 wine professionals from 28 different countries are currently enrolled in the Institute’s education programme which helps to prepare candidates for the annual Master of Wine Examination.

Speaking after receiving the award, Lynne Sherriff MW said: “I am honoured to accept this award on behalf of all the Masters of Wine, past and present. The Institute is a community of individuals united by a passion for excellence in wine and seeks to encourage others in the pursuit of knowledge. We place great value on bringing wine communities together and we are delighted to accept this award in recognition of our work in this area over almost 60 years.”

Previous recipients of the International Vinitaly Award include: Corinne Mentzelopuolos of Château Margaux (1997); Robert Mondavi (1998); Pablo Alvarez (1999), Penfolds (2000), Krug (2006); Hannes Myburgh of Meerlust in South Africa (2007); Hugh Johnson OBE (2008); and Jeannie Cho Lee MW and Lidia Bastianich (2009).

Palais Coburg Becomes an Institute Supporter

The Institute of Masters of Wine is delighted to announce that Palais Coburg has become a member of its international supporter community.

Palais Coburg is located in the heart of Vienna and is a former residence of the House of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha. Today it is a five-star hotel and is home to an extraordinary fine wine archive, comprising some 60,000 bottles from the Old and New Worlds which include some of the world’s rarest wines.

Palais Coburg’s support will assist the Institute’s education programme which prepares candidates for the annual Masters of Wine Examination. This will include subsidising exam script translation costs for students whose first language is not English. More than 250 wine professionals from 28 different countries are currently enrolled in the programme.

Lynne Sherriff MW, Chairman of the Institute said: “Our supporters from across the world of wine share a common commitment to excellence and recognize the value of wine education. We are delighted to welcome Palais Coburg to this community and are grateful for its contribution towards our international education programme.”

Frank Smulders MW, recently employed by Palais Coburg to supervise the wine department, says: “Palais Coburg is committed to encouraging wine education at the highest level, particularly in relation to fine and rare wines. We look forward to contributing to the Institute’s global education programme as a member of its supporter community.”

The principal supporters of the Institute are AXA Millésimes and the Austrian Wine Marketing Board and its major supporters include the Madame Bollinger Foundation, Constellation Europe, Vins et Vignobles Dourthe, The Esterházy Foundation, Ets. J-P Moueix, Istituto Grandi Marchi, Maison Louis Jadot, Napa Valley Vintners, San Pellegrino, Taransaud Tonnellerie, Villa Maria Group, Viña Errázuriz, The Vintners’ Company, Waitrose and Wines of Hungary. Supporters of the Institute include Berry Bros. & Rudd, Conseil des Grands Crus Classés en 1855, Gonzalez Byass, Lallemand, Opus One, Schloss Vollrads, Südtirol/Alto Adige Wines and the Symington Family Estates.